Manor of Dreams – Scribe’s Cave #35

Written for The Scribe’s Cave.  All you need is 50-200 words about the picture prompt to take part. My offering begins after the picture.

(c) desertedplaces.blogspot.com

(c) desertedplaces.blogspot.com

Jess loved this old manor house, despite its state of disrepair. There were dozens of rooms where she and Daif, her grandfather’s stable boy, spent hours exploring and going on quests. She never wanted things to change.

Orphaned when she was eight, she’d been sent to live with her grandfather, whom she adored. He’d indulged her and allowed her to run wild but climbing down a rope to the stairs had turned the rest of his hair grey. ‘Jess, you’re almost twelve. You have to stop leaping and climbing like a boy, you need to grow up.’

Jess laughed. ‘Oh grandfather, I’m never growing up.’

This was her castle and the only other place she loved as much were the stairs overlooking the mist shrouded valley. She’d been climbing down ever since she’d been old enough to tie a rope around the balustrade and swing down to sit on the stairs and listen to the wild birds calling to one another and dream dreams she knew would probably never come true.

This entry was posted in The Scribe's Cave and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Manor of Dreams – Scribe’s Cave #35

  1. Well done Lyn, one hopes she doesn’t grow up. You have created a character with a great sense of adventure. Enjoyed this very much, great image to write to.

  2. AR Neal says:

    Very nice…there’s a breeze blowing as they wander…I can feel it! I hope you’ll add your posts to the linky at the photo page as well when you have the opportunity. Glad you wrote for this!

    • Lyn says:

      Thanks Andree, glad you liked it. I did add my post to the linky — I think I did the right one, I’m #2 on the list. Is that right? Oh, wait till you meet her tutor – there’s going to be a real battle of wills there :-D

  3. rgayer55 says:

    Who knows, those dreams might come true. A very light-hearted story from a gloomy prompt. Well done. I really enjoyed it.

  4. draliman says:

    That looks like the ideal place to have adventures. I don’t think I’d want to grow up living there, either!

    • Lyn says:

      There is a very nasty storm on the horizon for Jess and her grandfather. Not to mention the battle of wills with the tutor her grandfather introduces :-)

  5. Matt Roberts says:

    Your story was really good. So much so that now I can’t think of anything to write for the picture because I keep thinking of your story! Maybe one will come to me. However, I’d like to thank you for sharing that picture, it’s amazing! Also the blog it came from, I think I’m now hooked on it as well. Now nothing I planned to do today will get done!

    • Lyn says:

      LOL Matt, I’m glad another person has been hooked by the Cave Mistress. Think creeping vines or monsters – even dragons, hidden rooms or treasure. You can do almost anything with that prompt. Ha ha ha know the feeling of not getting anything done once you see a good prompt :-) Andree always has good pictures as her prompts. The next one is due to be posted today, so you have a whole week to think of the next one ;-)

  6. Ahhhh, the stable boy…gave me chills right away. I want more!

    • Lyn says:

      LOL no, Daif is perfectly innocent – if slightly superstitious at times. He is fiercely loyal to Jess’s grandfather, and subsequently to her. They have been friends since Jess came to live with her grandfather (about four years ago). Their birthdays are on the same day, but contrary to numerous story lines, they are not twins separated at birth :-/ The really interesting stuff happens when Jess’s grandfather decides she needs a tutor and Jess doesn’t :-D

  7. Ste J says:

    I love that…anything could be waiting to happen, I want to live there and indulge my imagination with mayhem and mystery and possibly other things beginning with ‘M’ that I haven’t thought of yet.

  8. What a great description and we can imagine the atmosphere!

  9. Growing up is overrated :P
    I plan on regressing as soon as possible haha

Come on in and sit a spell, we can chat.

